jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2006-11-02 - 12:42 a.m.

193888176_e1b32eb003_o

So I built the bed. I even took it up to Maryland. It was nice.

Then we found out that you can�t just go to the Select comfort store and buy a bed. We�ve been planning on getting a sleep number bed for some time now, (based on the recommendation from several friends that are quite happy with theirs.)

So it�s Friday, Jill�s Dad is flying in from Kansas in the morning and we have no place for him to sleep.

We put the old double mattress on the queen size bed I built (yeah that worked well�) and made due. Well, he made due, we slept in the other room on an air mattress, nice and comfy.

We also learned this weekend that four people in a house as small as ours is a �challenge.

But no one died. Brenda Jill and I went to the Washington horse show on Thursday and Friday. Jill picked those nights because they featured dressage. If your not a serious horse person dressage is like watching paint dry. That is why during the Olympics Jill and I go into spasms when they cut away from the actual competition to tell about the remarkable back-story. I don�t care if he was raised by a single parent in Vermont and rode to escape his fear of mongoose, I want to see the competition!!!!

They had some barrel racing, and terriers and such thrown in for good measure, and because if they had a �dressage only� night we might have been the only people there. There was also great deal of jumping both nights. It was lots of fun, with the only down point being the bad luck we had with people behind us.

Night number one, we had two 10ish 12ish girls behind us. Well actually they were everywhere, if it weren�t for little girls the domestic horse would have gone extinct at the turn of the 20th century. But the two behind us were something else. One of them had that piercing cheer/scream/ear awl that only young women and wounded rabbits can produce. Every time a horse cleared a jump it sounded like we were being hunted by the Nazgul.

Night number two, be were in front of Horse Trailer Barbie, with Frat Boy Ken! Chances of these two making it past year one of marriage �0

They were no terribly loud, but it�s a horse show not a NASCAR event, the people in front of you can hear every word you say. No really, every word. And we are laughing at you. Well, some of the time, the rest of the time we are tolling our eyes and wishing you would shut up.

191598966_4380631fa4

She used to ride, he would much rather be watching the game and drinking beer with the guys, and she is pissed because he isn�t having a good time. Hello? What did you expect when you brought Frat Boy Ken to the dressage competition?

�Why don�t these horses have real names, if I had a horse I�d name it Anus�

Shudder.

Aside from that and paying $8.00 for a slice of cafeteria pizza it was a really great time.

Saturday we ate at the Shiny Dinner then took a long lazy drive out to Point of Rocks and then to Frederick where we had tea at our favorite place and then did a little window shopping before heading home.

Sunday we went to the American history museum, no wait, scratch that, the American history museum is closed. (we didn�t find out till we walked up to the boarded up entrance. ) So we made due with the Natural history museum, which Jill and I had just visited. But it was all good as we skipped the third floor last time.

We had dinner at the Flaming Pit, which was very good despite of the harassment I got for choosing a place so named and trying to get us there in the dark. Jill always, always orders better than I do. I�m going to start having her order for both of us, that or just order what she does. That will probably break the spell though.

Sometimes my dish is terrible and hers is great, this time mine was quite good but hers was wonderful. I got the scallops, she got the lamb shank. �Roast red meat on the bone!� to quote Gimli.

Monday was for errands, I rode in with Jill, something I plan to do frequently once I get up there, but right now is so infrequent that each time I make it home I feel like I just completed the Tour de France.

Tuesday was more of the same, I think, I actually don�t remember Tuesday.

I planned to leave early Wed, but after Dropping Jill off, running more errands and getting some stuff done at the house that need attention, it was 4:00, and you don�t try to leave DC at four o clock. I picked Jill up from Choir and we watched �Monster House� with dinner. It wasn�t great, but it was Halloween after all and it was OK. I left for here around 11:00 and got in at 4:30.

Today I got the rest of the siding up, (Almost, there is one piece I took down to re cut) and mowed the back yard, mostly leaves, but it�s easier than raking them all up. Tomorrow I paint hopefully, and work on the Mudroom.

-Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!