jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2006-11-08 - 1:18 a.m.

2230193

Borat:

Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan

Go see it. Unless you are especially thin-skinned, and then you should definitely go se it. � � � � � NOT!

Leave the kids at home though. There were a lot of kids there with their parents tonight.

Hello? If you are taking your kids to a movie where they are checking ID�s at the door� Never mind� you�re not listening anyway.

I�ve been a long time fan from the Ali-G stuff, and even some clips I�ve seen from before he did the Ali-G show. Over all these are not the funniest sketches he�s done, but that just means you won�t blow cola out of your nose as often.

You can find a lot of his earlier stuff on Googlevideo Here is are a couple fine examples.

Sorta NSFW

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-6954636638734711262&q=borat+house&hl=en

NSFW

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-4838468583692953562&q=borat


It�s nice, You like!

Borat-flag

So I liked it, as I said he has done sketches in the past that were more funny than anything in the film, but much of what he is doing is dependant on the unsuspecting �victim� and their reaction. His ability to improv as the situation unfolds is astounding.

He will also go to any length to get the laugh, and I mean ANY length. I�m actually surprised that the movie got away with an R rating. I few years ago before �Jackass� and other films pushed the bounds a bit there is no way it would have made it, and I�m a little afraid to see what the �unrated� DVD version will have in store. (You know there will be one, it will come out a month or so after the regular DVD, its getting a bit old by now)

All that said, I�ve never heard an audience laugh that loud and often before, and since the jokes come so fast I know that half of them were missed. One brilliant thing was way he worked the audience into several �in� jokes at the end. It�s obvious that the people at the time have no idea what he is talking about, but the rest of us who have been on the whole trip are busting up. I don�t think I can remember a similar situation in a movie, at least not an unscripted moment. Loved it. Wowwoowewow.

This cold snap caught me quite unprepared, and now it�s going to get warm for another week. I was really hoping for the long warm fall we had last year� I need to rush and get all the warm weather stuff done this week. I wasn�t able to paint the outside of the mudroom because the temp dropped to 25 degrees (WTH!?) But it will be warm enough this week. I also need to complete the plumbing hookups under the house before it gets frigid again, but there are only a couple of joints.

Today I got the rest of the kitchen cabinets assembled and the under cabinets primed. I�ll paint them in the morning and then again in the evening, they should be ready to install by Tuesday. Tomorrow I�m also going to cut out and install the shower tile surrounds and the bath surrounds. I might try and hang the crown supports tomorrow too. I can�t hang the crown itself until I get some help, and I think my help is out of town.

Exciting stuff I know, but everything done is one more check on my list, and though it is still long, it gets a little shorter everyday.
I�ve been re-reading (listening) to 1984. It�s creepy stuff and I can�t help but draw parallels to our current situation. I know it sounds paranoid and all, but reading the section about the purpose of war in society is simply to accurate to ignore. What got me thinking about this today was the news that Sadam has been sentenced to hang. This trial has been going on for what 2 years now, and they announce the sentence two days before the mid term elections? on Sunday?

Before you think I�ve gone to far to the conspiracy side remember that the Bush administration has repeatedly claimed that the insurgency in Iraq has timed big attacks to influence the American public. Suddenly the idea that the announcement was timed to give the Republicans a little boost in an election where they are in a lot of trouble doesn�t sound far fetched at all. I mean come on, Sunday?

Ever seen the movie Wag the Dog?

-Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!