jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2005-09-15 - 10:01 p.m.

Part 5

I was completely elated as Sir Dagonet and Sir Valharic hurried me done the path towards the fighting field. I realized pretty quickly that I had helped set up my own vigil tent.

We were heading towards a narrow gate made of two high stakes stuck in the path, the sides were open. The directed me towards the center and Dagonet was able to pass his arm over the stake with little trouble .

Valharic, being a bit shorter, caught his sleeve on the stake and disappeared as if a giant hand had grabbed him from behind. We had been trucking right along and the momentum spun Valharic off into the night, it took him a while to recover and catch back up to us.

Moments of great solemnity tend to amplify your sense of humor, (mine anyway) Valharic�s sudden disappearance would have been terribly funny at anytime, at this moment it was all I could do to keep from falling over laughing. Dagonet was visibly struggling as well. Apparently someone else in the procession ran headlong into a trash can but I missed that.

I�m not poking fun here, (I have a deep respect for Val) I just wanted to mention this because it is one of my fondest memories of the whole event.

As we approached the vigil tent I was struck by how beautiful everything was. There were torches near the tent and it looked almost holy.

They led me to the front of the tent and had me kneel on the ground. After some brief words about my upcoming night of contemplation, Sir Cuan ordered them to strip off my tunic.

Then he said �Pour it Slow�

I knew that there would be an ice water bath. I had seen it when Bryce was knighted. Instead of actually putting you into a big tub they just pour the water over you. I remember how Bryce�s bath still had ice cubes floating in it.

I expected it to be bracing, but that simply does not describe it. My body completely rebelled against the assault. I immediately took a deep involuntary breath, not a great idea when you are under water. I struggled to maintain my composure, it was incredibly difficult. It was everything I could do to keep from bolting.

It also seemed to last forever, I was sure that they had backed a tanker truck up behind me. As soon as I though they were finished, another wave would wash over me. I�ll certainly never forget it.

That is really the whole idea of the ice water, it is not some Frat boy hazing thing. When you emerge from the bath you are supposed to be a new person, if the water had been lukewarm I would have already forgotten the experience. As it is I�ll never forget the feeling of that water coursing over me.

They dried me and placed a pure white tunic over my head. I knew at once that Elishabeth had made it, though I was not sure how. Elee had never sewn anything more complicated than a pillowcase before. Mistress Theodora had come to the rescue and guided her hand. The tunic was beautiful, and fit perfectly.

Then they lead me into the tent and Elee brought a pair of pants for me to change into.

I was completely overcome by the alter, and it took all night for me to notice everything that was arrayed there. In front of the candles was my sword. The sword was one of the main reasons I didn�t think the knighting would happen at Pennsic, we simply could not afford a good sword and I was sure they would wait until after we had saved enough.

There were also my Knights belt and chain, a pair of spurs and a letter from my Knight.
The whole display was so beautiful and meaningful to me that I immediately teared up.

Bryce�s squires had also brought down my armor, shield and weapons. They were displayed on a stand in the corner.

There were three chairs set in front of the alter, and I sat and thought for a while before my first visitors came in. I tried to pray and clear my head, there were so many thoughts racing around, I�m glad that they gave me a few moments to be alone. I could have used hours.

My first guests were Duke Cuan and Duke Paul of Belatrix, the last were Bryce�s Household. In Between there were many wonderful moments that I will record privately, but I can say that everyone was so kind, and the advice was the heart of wisdom.

Sitting around and having people tell you how wonderful they think you are is not something I�m good at. It was very difficult to accept such high praise from people that I admire so much myself, but I enjoyed every conversation I had that night.

Looking back at the list of people who came, it is hard to believe that some very important people waited around all night just to say a few words. The whole thing seemed to take no more than an hour but I think it was almost 4:00 when they finally shooed us out and told us they would take care of everything.

If anything the Vigil was too short. I am certain the guards and folks waiting around to take down the tent would disagree, but from the inside, the night just flew by. I would have been happy to take the tent down myself for a few more hours in that beautiful place. This is no slight against those who waited till the wee hours in the morning to take the tent down, they were awesome, and it was an honor to have my vigil on the battlefield of Pennsic, I just wish I could have spent more time in there, it was so beautiful.

I thought I would never get to sleep that night, but I drifted off within seconds of lying down.

Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!