jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2005-09-19 - 7:17 a.m.


Go, Fight, Win!


Ok, I know that it�s not the right picture, but it is as close as I could get.

I went to �Chalice II: The Poseidon Adventure� this weekend.

Last year it was �Challenge of the sun god� and it got rained out, as it had the year before. Apparently the name changed was good fortune as it only rained a bit after the final round of the rapier tourney. It was however very hot and humid.

Janos and Rachel picked me up Friday on the way up from SC and I think we got in about 12:00. Unloaded, and realized that I did in fact forget my bedding; I managed to forget a lot of stuff in my sleep deprived packing. But with the clothes and bags I had with me I was able to make a comfortable bed. Tired as I was, I fell asleep pretty quickly.

I called Elee in the morning and had her bring some bedding with her, (she got a ride down with Roland and Theodora) I think they got on site around 9:30-10, I know I was down on the field helping to set up the Royal tent when they got there. Elee was competing in the bardic competition and had to go back to the feast hall before the tourney started.

The tourney was a Bedford Points type, it is always hard to figure out how well you are doing in this type because you continue fighting and tallying points thought the tourney. Even if you are winning most of your fights, someone else might win all of their fights and you won�t know until the end. At the end of the all the rounds they have the top two points winners fight for the title. It came down to Kevin of Thornbury and me. The winner of this fight would go on to fight the winner of last years tourney.

I won, (yay me!) and then went on to go 2-1 with Conall, last years winner. Next year (barring injury or absence) I�ll come back to fight in the tourney and defend the title : )

It was fun, they gave me two chalices filled with gold chocolate coins at court and I got to pass out �largess� all night. I think I�ll find a source for those coins as they are a lot of fun to pass around.

I�ll finish this post tomorrow� Kind of sleepy.

Justus


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!