jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2005-07-05 - 11:36 p.m.

Back from from visiting Jill over the 4th.

Happily, driving up to Washington DC on Friday wasn�t the traffic nightmare I expected. In fact I didn�t have any traffic at all until I came back this morning around 8:00

What a great long weekend break, two weeks is too long for Jill and I to be apart
We�ve had to go much longer in the past, (months at a time,) but since we�ve been married I don�t think we have had to go longer than a week and a half. It definitely spoils you.

I have no idea why someone who loves to read as much as I do, and who has spent as much of their life on the road as I have, has never discovered the joy of books on tape/CD.

I�m looking back on those many, many hours I�ve spent driving hither and thither across the country as time I could have been reading (listing) All the books I�ve been meaning to read, haven�t had time for, ect� Never again!

I picked up �1776� at Sam�s on the way out of town Friday, and the 5hr trip just flew by. As did the trip home. 1776 is a good introduction to the American revolution, it only covers the title year, (sending me to my library to brush up on the rest of the war)
The author is quite misty eyed in his appreciation of the patriots who fought against he British, taking their speeches about liberty and love of country entirely at face value. If you do a bit of research on your own you will find that the motivations of the Revolutionary leaders weren�t entirely sterling. I might go into this further sometime.

On the way home from Kansas last month we picked up the David Sedaris box set. (quite excellent by the way, if you are a fan of his particular style)

From now on I plan to have an audio book with me on every trip, and I no longer dread the long road trip but look forward to clearing my backlog of �must read� books.

We found a wonderful church in Rockville. We�ve been looking on-line for months trying to find a church for when we move up to Maryland. As you can imagine, it�s not easy to choose a place of worship via their web site, but it can help narrow down the list considerably.

Most churches have pictures of their worship, mission statements, belief statements and so on. They also have schedules and info on their small groups. All this info is full of clues about what the church is really like.

We are non-denominational, meaning that we are not Baptist, Methodist, Pentecostal ect (though we have attended all those and more) We try to go where God leads us.
It�s more difficult to find a new church, as we can�t just look in the phone book for our denomination and go there, but it also means that we are free to find the best place for us to serve.

On Saturday night we finally found this place and one other that seemed promising. I was using Jill�s Laptop to get directions to the first church, and as I was navigating over to the second church, the computer shut down because of low battery.

�I guess we are going to the first one�

Sure it could be coincidence, but there are a couple hundred churches in Rockville, and this one is a perfect match for us.

We met with one of the associate pastors for lunch on Monday and talked about the church for a couple of hours, all the while feeling more and more comfortable with the church.

Finding the right church is a huge part of our lives. We have dedicated ourselves to serving Christ, so having a good church is vital. It�s not just a one hour on Sunday morning thing, we might spend the better part of our free time each week in some kind of church activity, the worship team, youth group, mentoring and small groups ect�
It�s just what we do. For us to be in a church that supports us and allows us to serve to the best of our ability is a real blessing.

Whoo Hooo.

We also found a really nice, pet friendly, house to rent, with a garage, and fenced yard, in Rockville, on the Metro, for less than $1400.00 a month! (I know it sounds expensive here in Durham NC, but we haven�t found anything else this �cheap� )
Please please please let us get this house!

Must get back to work tomorrow, Blagh.

Justus


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!