jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2004-08-19 - 3:36 a.m.

I have a confession, I love Bonnie Tyler.

(AKA Gaynor Hopkins) born in Skewen, South Wales, 8 June 1951. You might know her better as the overblown, overly dramatic, overly �turn it to 11� voice behind such early 80�s hits as �Total Eclipse of the Heart� and �Holding Out for a Hero�

Come on, be honest, have you never found yourself reaching for anything that even remotely resembles a microphone and belting out �Forever�s gonna start tonight!� while making grand dramatic gestures to an imagined audience?

What man worth his salt doesn�t want to be a �white knight upon a fiery steed� riding full out across a draw bridge, sword drawn, racing to save his love from some ghastly fate?

Some of my favorite imagined musical moments occur during the recording of �Total Eclipse of the Heart� If you haven�t heard it lately you must go find the 7+ minute version, which contains what I�m quite sure is a 105mm howitzer accenting the snare drum. I�m not kidding. I really believe that the sound engineer. after trying every trick he could think of to accentuate the power of the snare hits, actually wheeled in a cannon and fired it off every 16 beats during the bridge.

And now I must return to work,

Rock on Gaynor, Rock on.

Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!