jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2006-11-28 - 11:25 p.m.

collegehumor.8ad08bf7f39a137fb9a598ebd69c47d9

For Cat

"Showers make kitty sad..."


�..They hung a sign up in our town
Said �If you live it up, you won�t live it down�..�

Tom Waits
�Hold On�

Hard to overstate how much I love that song.

Back from MD, and thanksgiving, no time to sit and muse when you are spending the holidays with friends. This was a hard thanksgiving for us. Our good friends are splitting up, and we spent the last four thanksgivings over at their place. It wasn�t the same this year, and I think everyone felt it.

And through plain bad luck and a bit of sabotage I managed to ruin three dishes, one of them twice. But I know that a perfect dish would have made a bit of difference in the end. I�m not sure what we will do next year, it might be time for a new tradition.

Turns out that we won�t be making 12th night after all, and Sapphire Joust is out too. It meant a lot to me that Jill was more worried about me missing SJ than I was. Having a creed in life makes many hard decisions much easier. When you have a tough one you just remember the order, and the decision is made.

I�m tired, left MD around noon, took me forever to get home even though I only stopped three times. Dropped by some friend�s house to fix a light, and ended up having dinner with them. That drive always leaves me exhausted, especially leaving Maryland.

I only got to be up there for two days anyway. I took Jill back Saturday night; we got in around 3:00 am. If you are going to drive to DC on thanksgiving weekend, that is the only time to do it. Even at that wicked hour the roads were pretty packed. And here I thought I was the only one who figured it out.

We slept in Sunday morning, actually I woke up at 8:30, but I wasn�t going anywhere. Then drove down to Virginia for the northern regional practice. (It�s not far, Maryland is so small that going to the grocery store might mean an out of state trip) The practice was a hoot, 20 or so fighters, and we worked melee drills for most of the day. I�ll do a lot to spend a day fighting melees so a 30-minute drive was nothing. The only real problem was the ground being much more slippery then it looked; there were a couple dramatic slips and slides. I was fighting pole with Vlad when my back foot slid completely out from under me and I did a James Brown with my polearm as support. Vlad looked at me and said,

�I think you lost your footing on that one.�

I�m pretty sure it was deadpan and not serious, though I�m not sure which would be funnier.
So we ended up fighting on the pavement basketball court, which is great for footing, but poor for melee as there is a good chance of knocking folks down (and getting knocked down yourself.) on the hard surface. But we managed just fine. I�m looking forward to the higher population density up there.

Tomorrow it�s back to painting and trim.

-Justus


�..They hung a sign up in our town
Said �If you live it up, you won�t live it down�..�

Tom Waits
�Hold On�

Hard to overstate how much I love that song.

Back from MD, and thanksgiving, no time to sit and muse when you are spending the holidays with friends. This was a hard thanksgiving for us. Our good friends are splitting up, and we spent the last four thanksgivings over at their place. It wasn�t the same this year, and I think everyone felt it.

And through plain bad luck and a bit of sabotage I managed to ruin three dishes, one of them twice. But I know that a perfect dish would have made a bit of difference in the end. I�m not sure what we will do next year, it might be time for a new tradition.

Turns out that we won�t be making 12th night after all, and Sapphire Joust is out too. It meant a lot to me that Jill was more worried about me missing SJ than I was. Having a creed in life makes many hard decisions much easier. When you have a tough one you just remember the order, and the decision is made.

I�m tired, left MD around noon, took me forever to get home even though I only stopped three times. Dropped by some friend�s house to fix a light, and ended up having dinner with them. That drive always leaves me exhausted, especially leaving Maryland.

I only got to be up there for two days anyway. I took Jill back Saturday night; we got in around 3:00 am. If you are going to drive to DC on thanksgiving weekend, that is the only time to do it. Even at that wicked hour the roads were pretty packed. And here I thought I was the only one who figured it out.

We slept in Sunday morning, actually I woke up at 8:30, but I wasn�t going anywhere. Then drove down to Virginia for the northern regional practice. (It�s not far, Maryland is so small that going to the grocery store might mean an out of state trip) The practice was a hoot, 20 or so fighters, and we worked melee drills for most of the day. I�ll do a lot to spend a day fighting melees so a 30-minute drive was nothing. The only real problem was the ground being much more slippery then it looked; there were a couple dramatic slips and slides. I was fighting pole with Vlad when my back foot slid completely out from under me and I did a James Brown with my polearm as support. Vlad looked at me and said,

�I think you lost your footing on that one.�

I�m pretty sure it was deadpan and not serious, though I�m not sure which would be funnier.
So we ended up fighting on the pavement basketball court, which is great for footing, but poor for melee as there is a good chance of knocking folks down (and getting knocked down yourself.) on the hard surface. But we managed just fine. I�m looking forward to the higher population density up there.

Tomorrow it�s back to painting and trim.

-Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!