jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2006-09-25 - 12:56 a.m.

1765_image

Come on, you know if cats could use sniper rifles they would, it�s in their nature.


Cattle raids.

It was a very fun event, moovelous even. I promooose that will be the last cow related joke.

Fighting wise, the cowball game was.. OK. A little rule heavy for SCA fighting. Remember that �fighting games� can be a lot of fun, as long as then serve to make the actual fighting more enjoyable. But once the game gets in the way of the fighting, then it�s no fun anymore. Cowball in it�s present incarnation is right on the line.

I also think having a tourney scheduled after the melee fighting would help keep people on the field longer, to ensure that the melees actually happen, I�d recommend that you have to participate in the melee�s if you want to fight in the tourney. I�ve never seen such a tourney-centric kingdom. I�ve been told that in the past Atlantia has swung between the two extremes, at some points being a very melee heavy kingdom, but for now at least tourney fighting, or one on one in general, reigns supreme.

In most places I�ve lived if you have 12 fighters in one place, you have a six on six melee. In Atlantia you have two bearpits.

There was a 30% chance of rain in the afternoon, happily the 70% won out and the day was quite nice. The several days of low 70�s in the preceding week did spoil me for the upper 80�s that we saw in the afternoon, but seeing that it is pouring now I can�t complain about the weather at all.

I�m told that the feast was excellent, I was treated to a bowl (or three) of very good stew and cornbread at a camp near the bardic fire, the memory of which is making me exceedingly hungry now as I�ve subsisted on a couple of rolls today.
The bardic was quite good, only being marred by feast getting out late which meant that I had just about run out of voice by the time Dunstan and co showed up. I was deeply touched by Eogan�s recommendation that we stay in Windmasters and become that next Baron and Baroness. Jill and I have often talked about putting our names in for a polling, and we would have if we didn�t have to move. Perhaps we will move back here someday and give it a try.

There was an entire bewilderment of newcomers at the event; I do hope some will stick around as I think our population could heartily use the influx of new people. I noticed that some stayed for the bardic, which in my experience was the key to joining this merry band of misfits.

There is a cricket in my room, this small offender will have to die I�m afraid, it�s like having rock band playing your least favorite song at loud volume, right under your bed. It simply won�t do..

-Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!