jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2006-09-04 - 3:26 p.m.

191598847_ec211d19f1_o

�Tell me about your childhood�

Back from Coronation, Lord if I am not as sore as I�ve ever been. I�ve been off the field for several months, (storvic novice doesn�t count as I only fought for a half hour or so) and O how quickly the body gets used to the good life.

I seriously overdid it on Sunday. In my mind I kept telling myself that if I wanted to get back in shape I needed to get out there and fight, but in reality I should have quit much earlier. You can�t undue several months of laziness in one long Sunday afternoon, at least not as you get older.

Yes, yes folks I know, I am just a pup in comparison to most, but I am still a pup that has crossed that magical line where your body is no longer your friend and constant companion, and has become a surly and ill tempered host, one that must be dealt with on his own terms and coaxed into any hard activity.

And, I�m told, it only gets worse from here.

Overall the event was good fun, there was a time crunch on Sat that resulted in the second, and only tourney I was signed up for, to be canceled. But we started a pickup field and I got in many good fights. I didn�t get on for feast, but was told that it was quite good.

After feast, his Grace Cuan called for all Knights and squires to help clean up. This is a good and noble thing, excepting that there were for once too many willing hands for the work. I strolled into the hall well after feast to see what was going on and was immediately pressed into service. The only problem was that there were two people for every Job, and coming late I wandered around quite unable to find anything to do, every new task was seized by the several other people wandering around with the same fate. I finally managed to get a hold of a broom and began sweeping. It didn�t dawn on me until later that I didn�t even get to enjoy the feast that I was helping to clean up, but in truth it didn�t mater much.

We had a bardic in what might be the most difficult room I�ve ever sung in. It was truly cavernous, but also acoustically dead, excepting normal conversation, which it somehow amplified from one end to the other. My commendation to anyone who was able to perform in that space.

Sunday morning Duke Janos and I got some breakfast at little tavern on the field. I do hope they are able to attend more events, it was quite good. Then sat around until we realized that if we didn�t get into armor there was a good chance that nobody else would either. From there it was a long afternoon of pickups, several more folks showed up and fought. Pretty easy day actually, I�m just in such poor shape. By the time feast rolled around and I had packed up my gear it was all I could do to climb into the truck, and that slowly.

Getting up this morning was, well, �memorable�


-Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!