jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2006-04-19 - 12:17 a.m.

Tournament of Chivalry

Yes that is what my shield looks like. This is the first time I�ve brought it to a major event, and also the first picture I have of it. You can see some more pictures here:

Tournament of Chivalry Pictures

UPDATE! I completly forgot to metion that Ursus took all these pictures. But I'm sure you could tell by the quality :)

I think I have Lyme disease. I�ve got all of the symptoms, mainly that my muscles and joints are not recovering for several days after any strenuous exercise, and I have no endurance whatsoever, even though I�m in much better shape now than I was last year. It may also explain why my arms and hands have been going numb.

Fighting at ToC was exceptionally difficult for me this year; I could go maybe four or five rounds before I was completely exhausted. There were several times during the day when I was too tired to stand up from the bench, and when I did I was pretty unsteady. Then I went to Buckston practice tonight and was exhausted after only 30 minutes of fighting.

Waaahhh.

I�m going to get checked out this week.

Bardic at ToC was good, though it was a dry site and it only lasted a couple of hours, at least there was a bardic. I realized at practice tonight that I left my upper body armor and pole arm at the site. That is what I get for packing up after dark.

I spent Easter and Monday with Jilly, finally got her bike fixed. We didn�t do anything on Sunday. Well, we did go for a jog and played Frisbee for an hour or so, but aside from that we never got out of bed. Watched several movies, of widely varying quality.

�The Long Shot� I knew this movie would not be good, but it was supposed to have horses, and that can make up for multitude of sins. However, all the horses in the world could not make up for this disaster. This movie was so bad that it made my ears bleed. 1out of 10 stars

�The Brothers Grimm� This movie was better than I expected it to be, it had many weak points, but I think it pulled off what it was trying for pretty well. The guy who plays the torturer (Cavaldi) is Peter Stormare who you might recognize from the VW adds I posted a while ago. I spent the whole movie looking at him wondering where I had seen him before. 4 out of 10 stars.

�Paradise Now� This is a great film that I wouldn�t recommend to most people. However if you give it a shot it will certainly give you something to think about the next time you hear about a bombing in the Middle East. I was interested to note that the producers were very careful to include the one scrap of English dialog in the trailer, and make it appear that this movie is in English rather than Arabic. Why are folks afraid of the sub title? 8-10 stars.

�The Accidental Tourist� I�d never seen this one before. It is not a great film, but it was entertaining, and at least once or twice pretty hilarious. Overall the film misses the mark. 3 out of 10 stars.

Enough for now. Lots of work to do this week, may or may not update.

-Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!