jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2006-01-11 - 1:43 a.m.


12th night was wonderful, and reminded me anew of all that is great and good about the Society.

Even with its faults, our dear company of friends is something special, graceful and meaningful in a world seems increasingly hollow and unforgiving to me. It is a joy to look out on a crowd of people, all of whom have chosen to spend their time and effort in pursuit of a dream.

If the outside world were a place where honor, merit, service and courtesy were valued, perhaps the SCA would be redundant. Perhaps if we lived in a world where integrity was valued above wealth, merit above race, and chivalry above power, the SCA would just be another martial art, or a hobby for the historically minded.

At 12th night this year, good people were recognized for their arts, their service, and their prowess. Some honors were presented long overdue, but that they were presented now proves a desire to correct an injustice. Doubtless there were many in the crowd who have not received the recognition that they deserve, but I have faith that they too will receive the honors that they have earned.

I hope everyone had as good a time at Kingdom 12th night as I did. It was an exciting day for my wife and I as she was apprenticed to Mistress Rosalind Jehanne, beginning her journey towards one day, God willing, becoming a peer herself. Elishabeth was also awarded her Coral branch, our Kingdoms Award of Arms Level for Arts.

Sir Richard de Montbrai made a wonderful scroll for Elishabeth, and once again I was able to enjoy her expression at receiving it from my vantage point. I won�t miss standing, but I will miss the �Kings eye view�.

The competition for Royal bard went well, despite my complete lack of planning. (I didn�t even have judging sheets ready) I�m sure my successor will do a much more competent job of handling the next competition.
Speaking of successors, I�m happy to announce that my best friend Dunstan Le Herringmonger is the new Royal Bard of Atlantia.

So lets see� I ran the competition�, my best friend wins�,

Sounds like Washington DC!

Relax folks, there were three other judges, and the final round was judged by the king and Queen. (With the help of the 500 or so people in the feast hall)

Feast was really good, and that is a true feat when you think of the size of the crowd. Things get exponentially harder as the numbers increase. After feast we packed up and headed to the hotel for a post revel that the desk clerk will never forget.
It did get a bit wild at times, and I have to admit that I was at the center of (and possibly the cause of some of that wildness) However, I think everyone there had a good time, (except for possibly the desk clerk) I know I did�
On Sunday Jill and I completely forgot our 5th anniversary, but we wouldn�t have been able to celebrate anyway as we were both heading home from the event.
Apparently we�ve been counting our anniversaries incorrectly, since your first anniversary comes the year after you get married, so while we�ve been married six years, it�s the fifth anniversary. (Whatever)

Coming Soon: Midnight Crackheads, and a Viking Chest!

-Justus



previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!