jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2005-11-27 - 11:49 p.m.

For all of the teachers out there.

Wrapping up a long thanksgiving weekend. I�ve eaten so much the last few days that it will be months before thanksgiving actually ends for me.

Watched �Millions� tonight.

I thought it would be better, but it wasn�t terrible. 6-10. It didn�t have the emotional resonance that it strove for, in the end a little detached from itself.

Of course that might be the turkey talking.

I while ago I watched �Shultz Gets the Blues�

Loved it. 9-10

And I really don�t recommend it to anybody. It falls into the category of movies that I love, and most people I know hate. These movies tend to be very reflective, slow paced, full of meaning in quite moments, and (gasp) symbolism.

These are movies that give you two options, thought and reflection, or boredom and frustration. If you like your plot points spelled out to you at least twice, you won�t like these movies. If it�s not a good movie unless something explodes, or at least someone threatens to burn down a courthouse with a flamethrower, look elsewhere.

Anyway, I�m not saying that a movie has to fall into this category to be good, just that these are good because of these qualities.

This week is supposed to be warmish and I�ll take the opportunity to finish up the drywall and paint in my house. Getting closer�


Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!