jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2005-11-17 - 1:20 a.m.

This is two posts in a row that have required the use of one or more asterisks, if I�m not careful people will start to confuse this journal with that other singing Knight. ~8>

By the way I had to sit and practice saying the word �asterisks�

I�m pretty certain that I�ve never once said that word in plural before.

I watched �Crash� tonight. Not bad really, 7 out 10.

The only thing that I really found annoying about the film was the filmmaker�s notion that they had come up with something new under the sun.

In the behind the screens section the writer/director/ producer is all �I wanted to tell this story in a new and unique way�

I guess he hasn�t seen any of the myriad of independent films that use the same �seemingly random strangers that are actually connected and effecting each others lives� It is so common recently that it has become it�s own stereotype.

�Pulp Fiction� 1994 ,�2 Days in the Valley� 1996 and Grand Canyon 2000 spring instantly to mind, and I�ve got several more that I�ve filed away in there somewhere.

Only slightly less annoying was Sandra Bullock�s comment that

�The director managed to pull all these diverse characters and storylines together in a way that didn�t feel contrived at all�

I think she might have gotten confused at some point during the interview, that or she forgot which movie she was making.

The very nature of this type of movie means that contrivance is the only way all these �strangers� cross and re-cross each other�s path ultimately influencing each other�s life in an unforgettable way. I�m not going to spoil the movie by pointing out all the specific ways that the movie contrives to hook up it�s characters, but I will say this,

If your �uncontrived� meeting involves a heroic rescue from an overturned vehicle that is about to catch on fire and explode due to a quickly spreading pool of gasoline, you need to work on �subtlety�

By the way, where do these blankets come from? If you watch a movie, and a person (almost always a woman) is pulled from the wreckage of a car, or the aftermath of a tornado, terrorist incident, or recovery from a kidnapping, or in the case of �Gooines� the narrow escape from a cave-in triggered by a pirate ship booby trap �



Within seconds someone will run up with a gray wool blanket to wrap around the victims shoulders.

You find me a dramatic rescue, and I will show you a blanket being wrapped around someone�s shoulders.

Is there a special position in rescue units for the blanket wrapper?

�Smith, you and Mac get the stretcher, I�ll bring the defibrillator, and Johnson, for God�s sake this time don�t forget the RESCUE BLANKET! It�s your only job!

Ok I�m getting a bit loopy here, but pay attention; you too will notice the rescue blanket phenomenon. Send me the names of films, or pictures of the Rescue Blanket as I am compiling a comprehensive sighting list.

I�m not trying to blast this movie; I actually recommend it highly as an insight into race, social class and mis-perception in America today.

(Crash that is, not Goonies)

Justus


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!