jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2005-11-14 - 4:42 p.m.

While we have to deal with pesky archers, at least we don�t have to dodge musket balls.


Finally back in NC.

There is a very strong gravitational pull around Rockville MD, and I had to achieve an extreme escape velocity to escape my orbit.

In other words I�d rather hang out with my sweetie than come back here.

But the end is near, and soon I hope to hand this place over to a real estate agent and head up to MD for good.

I started listening to a new book on the way back from Rockville,

Bernard Cornwell�s �Archers Tale�

Set in the mid 14th century it follows a common yeoman through several campaigns in France and beyond.

Bernard Cornwell is best known for his Sharpe novels, which follow a common solider through several campaigns in France during the Napoleonic war. I guess the common solider, and the hated French are kind of a theme for this author. (I hear these are actually pretty good.)

In England �The Archer�s Tale� was released under its original title �Harlequin�.
Of course a �Harlequin� novel in the states is a certain type of Romance novel, often of the �bodice ripper� variety

The publishers obviously didn�t want this book confused with those, which is terribly ironic since in fact �The Archers Tale� is a very historically accurate bodice ripper.

To be fair, this is a book about war, and a very accurate one at that, and since rape and plunder were the major motivators for the common solider, a lack of bodice ripping would have stood out in this book.

It�s not that bad, (the book I mean) and students of the period will find lots of little details that the author has gotten correct which is always nice. This isn�t high literature, but it is a good tale and I�m looking forward t the next two books.

Since this is an audio book review, I must mention that the reader is better than average. A poor reading performance can absolutely ruin a book no matter how good the content.

Ok, going back to work, and the Scottish campaign of 1347!

Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!