jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2005-10-10 - 2:45 a.m.

That is soooo going to hurt.

Little damp this weekend at Kingdom Crusades. Not much to say about the fighting, the field battles were canceled early in the morning. They went ahead and ran a big bear pit for the duration of the day, and I fought for an hour or two there. I�ve been fighting like a chump lately and really need to start training seriously if I want to remain worthy of my title.

Court was fun but sparsely attended, I was pleased to see Achbar inducted into St Aiden. I hope that order finds it�s footing and realizes its collective potential.

Once again, standing behind the thrones gave a better than average view of the action. Mungo offered Achbar the ceremonial stag�s head cup to drink from (filled to the brim with Drambuie, a fine choice if I do say so myself) Achbar took a wee sip and tried to hand it back. Mungo motioned for him to down it.

Now maybe I�m the only one who saw this coming, but we are talking about someone named �Achbar ibn Ali�, there is a good chance that he may not be the drinking sort.

Achbar said as much, but being a good sport, downed the shot. His reaction was exactly what you would expect from someone who has never taken a shot before, a wince, followed by a couple suppressed coughs and a dazed expression. It was truly all I could do to keep composure. I�m glad it was something smooth like Drambuie, straight whiskey might have done him in.
Achbar is a fine fellow and I�m glad that he is getting this recognition.

We went and had Dinner off site at Bob Jones, which wasn�t bad, and gave us something to do while the party was getting underway. We got back to site around 7:45 and things were just getting going over at what was supposed to be the Kraken unbelt party.

After wading across the stream that had formed in the roadway and setting up to play, we had a grand old time. Since it was the only game in town I think we attracted just about all the hardy folks who stayed overnight. I learned that Sir Tascious is a fantastic storyteller, and you should ask him to tell about his time with the Tuchux.

Even with the cold and wet, the hard florescent lighting, and the fact that I had to drive home after the bardic, I�d still give this one an 8 out of 10. This was Jill�s Mom�s first bardic, and I think it was a good initiation. (Even if I had to do some delicate explanation of certain unfamiliar words and phrases, such as why an ermine spotted clamshell is the source of much merriment.)


Survey Says!


1.Name someone with the same birthday as you.

I cheated and looked it up online, I got a very long list of people who I don�t know, and some interesting ones that I did. Mark Twain is the only one I knew before since it is on all the calendars.

30-Nov-1667 Jonathan Swift (Author, Satirist) �Gulliver's Travels�
30-Nov-1835 Mark Twain �Outside of a dog, a book is a man�s best friend, inside a dog, it is too dark to read�
30-Nov-1874 Winston Churchill �I like pigs. Dogs look up to us. Cats look down on us. Pigs treat us as equals.�
30-Nov-1929 Dick Clark (TV personality): Possibly made of Plastic
30-Nov-1930 G. Gordon Liddy (Then: Political Henchman, Now: Talk show host)
30-Nov-1936 Abbie Hoffman (Political Activist) Lot in common with this guy
30-Nov-1937 Robert Guillaume (Actor): Sports Night, Benson, Lean on Me
30-Nov-1947 David Mamet (Playwrite): �We Americans have always considered Hollywood, at best, a sinkhole of depraved venality. And, of course, it is. It is not a protective Monastery of Aesthetic Truth. It is a place where everything is incredibly expensive.�
30-Nov-1952 Mandy Patinkin (Actor, Singer) �Ahlo, My name is Inigo��
30-Nov-1955 Billy Idol (Musician) of sorts
30-Nov-1962 Bo Jackson (Athlete) Bo Knows my Birthday
30-Nov-1965 Ben Stiller (Actor) Very funny man
30-Nov-1978 Clay Aiken (Nooooooooo!!!!)


2. Where was your first kiss?

I don�t remember, but mine and Jill�s first kiss was in the back seat of our Tahoe.

3. Have you ever seriously vandalized someone else's property?

No.

4. Have you ever hit someone of the opposite sex?

Never in anger, only in the SCA and other martial arts.

5. Have you ever sung in front of a large number of people?

All the time, but I used to get so nervous that my whole face would go numb.

6. What's the first thing you notice about the preferred sex?

Whatever part of my wife that I see first. : ) Though I do have to admit that I am a fan of a fine padonkadonk!

7. What really turns you on?

See above.

8. What do you order at Starbucks?

Small independent coffee shops are always cooler, but I do love a Venti Chai Frappachino.

9. What is your biggest mistake?

Wow. Probably the stupidest thing I�ve ever done was saying �sure� when someone handed me a cup of unknown origin at a trailer trash party. Nudity, Motorcycles, and Near Death followed closely afterward.

10. Ever hurt yourself on purpose?

No, but I certainly thought about it a lot back in the �Bad old Days�

11. Say something totally random about you.

22 stone 14

12. Has anyone ever said you looked like a celebrity?

No, but Jill looks exactly like Drew Barrymore on the cover of �Everafter�

13. Do you still watch kiddy movies or tv shows?

We love all the Pixar films, and have a large collection of other �Kid Friendly� movies. One time I was in a used book and movie store and found a copy of �Sword in the Stone� the Clerk said �Your kid will love this one� I said �Uh,, It�s actually for me��

14. Did you have braces?

No, but I do have some fake teeth

15. Are you comfortable with your height?

I would be the ideal weight; if only I were 7�9�

�I�d like a full body tattoo of myself, only thinner and taller.�

16. What is the most romantic thing someone of the preferred sex has done for you?

Said: �I do�

17. When do you know it's love?

When your tired, and angry, and hurt, but would set all that aside because they need you now.

18. Do you speak any other languages?

Hebrew pretty well, Spanish enough to work and live, and French enough to know when they are talking about me.

19. Have you ever been to a tanning salon?

No, nay, never.

20. What magazines do you read?

The New Yorker, (whenever I get my hands on one) Scientific American, Discover, Fine Wood Working, Fine Home Building, Woodwork.

21. Have you ever ridden in a limo?

No

22. Has anyone you were really close with passed away?

Too many

23. Do you watch MTV?

I used to watch MTV like a fiend, but in those halcyon days they actually played �Music Videos�

24. What's something that really annoys you?

Pop-up ads, especially Pop-up ads for Pop-up blocking software. That is the ultimate in screw you advertising and those people should all get elephantitis of the scrotum (we all know that only guys would do something like that right?)

25. What's something you really like?

A fall afternoon with my sweetie and nothing to do.

26. Do you like Michael Jackson?

No

27. Can you dance?

Yes, but not as good as Michael Jackson.

28. What's the latest you have ever stayed up?

From Friday morning to Sunday night, 60+ hours.

29. Have you ever thought that you were honestly going to die?

Yes, more than once.

30. Have you ever been rushed by an ambulance into the emergency room?

No, I�ve never even been in an ambulance, though I�ve been in the emergency room many times. We�ve always been �Do it yourself� type people.

31. Do you actually read these when other people fill them out?

Yes. These things tend to be more fun for me to fill out, but I enjoy reading other peoples answers as well.


-Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!