jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2005-10-04 - 11:37 p.m.

I�m relieved to have the whole knighting �journal... thing, done with. I was beginning to forget small details here and there and if I had gone another week or so it might not have been accurate at all. It was also pretty hard to write down everything in a way that was clear and not terribly boring.

After six parts it was starting to feel like �Lonesome Dove� or some other TV miniseries that never seemed to end.

What every happened to the good old mini series? I watch very little TV anymore, partly because reality TV causes me to break out in hives, but more because I don�t have a television.

The 80�s must have been the golden age of the TV mini series. I remember the hushed anticipation in our house at the beginning of a new series. To name a few: There was the Christian Roman Epic �A.D.� �The Thorn birds� �War and Peace� �V� �The Blue and the Gray� �North and South� �Shogun� �The winds of War� �Lonesome Dove� �Return to Lonesome Dove�

It seemed like every month there was another major four or five week series. Now HBO and Showtime are carrying the torch, but what about he poor kids growing up in the middle of Kansas? (Probably nothing since they don�t put down their PS2 controllers long enough to watch a series with their extended family)

Anyway, just reminiscing a bit. I doubt that if I were to see any of these again they would be any good. I�ve found that to be true whit a lot with movies and shows I loved as a kid. Some have survived to pass the grown up test, but so many old favorites have been filed under �What was I thinking?�

Which also leads me to think about some of the movies I�ve seen recently. I often walk out of the theaters saying, �Who are they making these movies for? 12 year olds?�

I now understand that the answer is yes. 12 year olds and their 30-year-old equivalents.

There is a nation of 12 year olds saying, �That movie was awesome!� (or whatever these young whippersnappers say these days) and in 10-15 years many will be saying
�What was I thinking�

It�s all circular man.


-Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!