jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2005-10-31 - 3:03 a.m.

Part Six

I woke up Friday morning wondering if it was real. I didn�t have any physical reminders to prove that the night before had happened at all, and I lay there for a long moment wondering if it wasn�t just a wonderful dream.

I swung my feet down off the cot, and there, laying on top of my boots, was the white vigil tunic. It must have really happened.

I asked Jill just to be sure.


I got dressed. The black pants, the white tunic that Jill had made, the red under tunic that Valharic had given me, and then my surcoat. I put my red leather squires belt on. I don�t remember if I realized then that it would be the last time I threaded the buckle and made the down knot. I had worn that belt for ten years, I must have cinched the buckle tight hundreds of times, it is something I could do in complete darkness. I have to look at my white knights belt every time to tie it correctly.

We walked down to the list field and met with Sir Bryce to go over fine details. Elee wanted to practice tying on the belt one more time and used Bryce as a stand in. I also found out that I would have to come up with what I would say for my oath of fealty. I think someone had alluded to that during the vigil, but I must have misunderstood. I guess I was expecting something like: �I- state your name- Swear Fealty� But it is not that formal here. I began to try and formulate just what I wanted to say. It wasn�t easy; I guess with everything that was flowing through my mind, coming up with a few words about fealty was just too much.

I do remember being pretty calm, but you would have to ask someone else if that is true or not. I was excited, but not as much as I expected to be. I don�t remember being nervous, at least not until just before the buffet, but that comes later.

When the time was drawing close, a good-sized crowd of Atlantians began assembling on the field. Malcolm, William, Uilleag, and I walked out to the far side of the crowd and stood waiting for the sign to process in. It was actually supposed to happen right then, but just as we though it was time; Northshield invited our Royals over to witness their first Knight being made.

I was glad for the delay. It gave me a few minutes to think and compose myself. Once the King and Queen had returned Bryce, Cuan and Elee began to sing �Belt and Chain�

I took that as our cue, and we began to walk towards the crowd. I should have waited a little bit, or we should have started farther out. �Belt and Chain� is a pretty long song, and I arrived in the middle of the circle at the end of the first verse.

Standing there in the middle of the crowd, which by this time had grown considerably, while they were all singing a song that I find deeply moving was the second hardest moment of the ceremony. I tried to keep cool, but I finally had to close my eyes and pray for strength and composure.

When they finished singing I turned and kneeled before the King and Queen. They asked me if I wished to be come a Knight of Atlantia, I replied that I did.

Before the ceremony was to begin I had to return my squire belt to my Knight and be released from fealty through him to the Crown of Calontir. As my Knight could not attend, I returned my belt and was released from fealty directly by King Tristram and Queen Katrine. This was very important to me as I�d taken my initial vow of fealty very seriously, and had never sworn fealty to another kingdom though I�ve lived in five.

As I took off my squires belt, I did realize that it was the last time, and that I might never see it again. I folded it and gave it a fond kiss farewell. I hope it didn�t look too staged; it really was spontaneous and heartfelt. The Calon Crown received the belt on behalf of Syr Ternon and released me from my fealty to Calontir.


Then Sir Valharic brought the spurs and spoke of their symbolism. That a Knight should be ready and quick of action for his king, just as warhorse responds to the spur.

Sir Bryce brought the White belt and told of it�s purity, that it should be worn as a symbol of true word and unstained character. Elee came and wrapped the belt around my waist and tied it.

Sir Rodrigo brought the sword and told of its two edges, protection of the weak, and vengeance against the wicked.

Sir Johann brought my poleaxe. �This is the shield of a Knight!� he said, and the crowd responded with cheers and applause. I seldom fight with a shield, and I�m well known for fighting with an axe in my left hand in its place. He said that it offered defense, and then pointed to it�s sharp edge, �And also opportunity.�

Sir Cuan brought my Knight�s chain. He spoke of the unbreakable bond of fealty between a Knight and his King. Then King Robert told me to rise and receive the buffet.

This is was the hardest point in the ceremony for me. It seemed like there was a very long wait between the command that this would be the last blow I ever received unanswered and the actual blow. I�m certain that it wasn�t more than a few seconds, but time slowed and I had plenty of time to think about what was about to happen.

I�ve been hit hundreds of times on the field of combat. I�ve been hit plenty of times in street fights. But never before had I stood in cold blood with the foreknowledge that I was about to receive a hard blow. It was very very hard to remain calm and look into the eye of the King before the buffet.

To me the buffet carries more symbolism than just the last blow unanswered. To me it speaks volumes of bravery, self control, and trust. To stand bravely in the face of a coming blow, to maintain control of yourself after the blow, and the trust placed in you to not return the blow, all tell of the true character of a Knight.

The blow came and rocked me backward; there was a white flash and the dizzying ring in my ear. It was not vicious, but it was stunning. I�m glad that it was good and hard, (in hindsight anyway) it�s a once in a lifetime thing, and like the bath, it would have been a shame if it were not something to remember.

Just afterward their majesties asked for my oath of fealty. I was glad for the opportunity to kneel as I found myself a bit unsteady. I also realized that I had completely forgotten what I was going to say. I paused for a second, and new words came to me. I placed my hands in Robert�s and Denise�s and said my oath.

I know that the words were a gift, but I can�t quite remember exactly what they were. I know that I said I wished to be a Knight in the image of Christ, and that I swore fealty to the Crowns of Atlanita, past present and future.

After they accepted my oath they placed the chain around my neck. King Robert drew my sword, for the accolade.

The sword came down on my right shoulder, then my left, and finally rested on my forehead. I don�t remember if anything was said, the moment was simply too overwhelming. I believe that after the final touch Sir Robert said, �Rise a Knight, Syr Justus�

I sheathed my sword, shook his hand and went to greet my brother Knights.

After lots of bear hugs and hand shaking Sir Janos came up and hit me in the chest, I stood there for a second confused, then several voices behind me said �Hit him back!� I did and there were more hugs cheers.

This is a tradition, and I had told myself not to forget. I�d seen a couple of other knighting ceremonies where the exact same thing had happened, the new knight standing there, looking confused, exactly as I had, and then the other knights urging him to �hit him back� I promised myself that when my turn came I wouldn�t forget.

Well, nothing is perfect : )

-Justus



previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!