jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2005-08-29 - 11:31 p.m.

I left Calontir in 1996 and moved to California after basic training in Texas. As soon as I had my gear flown out to me I got active in the West. I have to say while I enjoyed the fighting and high number of local events, I didn�t have much opportunity to sit around a fire and sing.
Since there is such a high population density in the SCA out there, many events were set up as day trips. Once the fighting was over, everyone split. For the few events that there was camping, I never found a strong bardic tradition.

It�s very possible that this was a localized thing; I lived in a small part of a very large kingdom, but I really can�t remember one good bardic from that time, and since my love for the fire and singing is so strong, it colors my whole time in the West.

I did make good friends out there; Baron Sir Wilhelm and Brand (now Sir Brand) stand out in my memory. My fighting improved and, combined with the good physical condition I was in from the military, I started winning tourneys. I still remember the first tourney I won, it was just a small tourney near Lodi California I think, but I am lucky to have a picture of the day. It was really exciting; I had come up from the loser�s side and had to win twice in the finals. I wish I had saved the tourney list.

After California I was stationed in Valdosta GA, right on the Florida border. I enjoyed living in Meridies, there was a strong bardic tradition and I really enjoyed the company of the local group in Valdosta. Earl Michael was the local knight. Truly one of the most courteous men I�ve ever know, I wish I had spent more time in his company. I was only in the country sporadically, spending much time overseas in Saudi Arabia. While I was in country I went to as many events as I could manage with my work schedule.

Once I got out of the service, Jill and I moved up here so she could attend UNC. Buying our first house, starting a business, and trying to take care of my younger brother left precious little time for the SCA. Looking back I wish we had gotten involved earlier, at least at a local level. I kept looking at the event schedule seeing events come and go hoping that maybe next year we would be able to get active again.

We had a small party one Halloween, and I attend a demo at a nearby school, but still didn�t have the resources to begin eventing. Finally Yimir tourney rolled around. It was less than an hour away, we had to go. I re-made all my armor as it had somehow shrunk over the years, and we were back. I remember how exciting it was to pull into Yimir, it felt like my first event all over again.

I had to re-authorize, but the second I stepped onto the list it was as if I had never left. I did pretty fair in the tourney, and learned that Atlantia has earned its reputation as a heavy hitting Kingdom on the pick up field. That evening we squeezed into the troll building for a really great bardic. I met Dunstan there, my soon to be best friend. We sang until we finally wore Jill out and then drove home. My return to the SCA completely renewed my love for the society, from that point on it was as many events as we could possibly attend. I had no idea how rewarding that first year back would be.

Justus


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!