jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2005-08-12 - 3:44 a.m.

��I didn�t expect the fare to be so high, you�re not trying to Bamboozle me are you?�

�No sir!, there is no Bamboozlement here!�

-Yann Martel �The life of Pi�


I�ve been wanting to read �The Life of Pi� for a year or so now, I finally got around to it. (I did actually read it, instead of listing to it, as I have so often lately)

It�s very good, in the way I like books to be. My wife would tell you that means you�ll probably need notes and a study guide. My favorite books tend to be the ones you�re forced to read in a college literature class.

I�m actually surprised that this book sold as well as it has. (well sort of) I guess when a book is critically acclaimed it gets bought by a lot of people who skim it a bit and then set it aside.

Maybe not as much in this case, the story on the face of the page is fairly simple and easy to follow. The true nature of the book is revealed at the very end, and a story about survival on the open sea becomes an allegory about the nature of truth and the meaning of Religion.

I cannot recommend it enough, though I don�t know if you will experience quite the depth of wonder if you don�t begin with a faith of your own. The book seems especially geared to stir up questions in those of faith, (be they Christian Muslim or Hindu)

I finished several Pennsic projects tonight, the new surcoat, the many repairs I had to make to my helm, and the new elbow cop.

The helm took forever, I had to replace 8 rivets, reshape the whole left side, and weld a couple of the camaile hooks back on. After that I had to brush and re-finish the outside surface to blend in the welds. I spent at least three hours on it, and I haven�t even finished re-installing the padding.

I�ve been meaning to repair it for some time now, I didn�t realize how badly the left side had been damaged. I�m pretty sure that a couple more heavy blows would have caused the whole side to come away from the top, (that would have been pretty exciting)

So much more to do tomorrow, but I think I�ll get everything done by game time.

Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!