jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2005-08-02 - 10:11 a.m.

Even if you don�t save the cat, it looks like a lot of fun.

Just got back from Rockville.

With no traffic, and the cruise control set at 70, it takes 4 hr 45 min.

I extended my stay as long as possible, it�s hard to leave Jill up there.
I left at about 10:15, I had a meeting here at 8:00 this morning. I got in at 3:00am, and got a couple hours of sleep.
Picked up some coffee on the way back from the meeting, three shots of espresso will give me enough energy to get some work done before I crash again.

A word on race relations, at least some advise.

No matter how many friends you have that are; black, gay, Jewish, Muslim� whatever, mentioning them as a defense against bias just sounds terrible. Even if it is completely true, it simply cannot be said in a way that lends credulity to your argument.


You�ve all heard the comment, �What do you mean!, I have friends that are ________ !�

No matter how well intentioned it just makes you sound like your covering for something.

Since it isn�t fair to give a criticism without a solution,

If faced with a moment when you find yourself about to say �I�m not biased, I�ve got Jewish friends!� Just leave it at:
�I�m not biased.�
�I�m not racist�
�I�m not sexist�
Ect.

There is no need to justify the response with an example.

By the way, avoid �I�m not prejudiced�

It is probably not true. Prejudice simply means making judgments based on your knowledge of the general traits shared by a group of people, and not specific knowledge of the individual.

Everyone makes these judgments hundreds of times a day (unless you�re a hermit)
The difference between an open-minded person and a racist, classist, bigot, ect� are the actions you take based on your assumptions.

If you see a young man in the store with a crew cut and an artificial leg, there is a very good chance that he lost the leg in Iraq. But I think you would be foolish to rule out all other possibilities. People loose limbs everyday in car crashes ect.
You might find yourself in an uncomfortable spot if you thank him for his sacrifice in defending the country, only to find out that he got hurt at a jobsite here in the states.

This is a very easy example, but I think the point is clear. We all make assumptions and pre-judgments, how we choose to act on them is the key.

Just my thoughts on the topic.

Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!