jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2005-07-11 - 3:27 a.m.


It�s 2:15 AM. can�t sleep, probably because of the extra long nap Jill and I took after church today.
It�s our favorite way to spend Sunday. Often because we don�t get enough sleep Sat night, so we get up early for church, eat out somewhere, come home and go right back to bed. The best Sunday are the days you can do nothing. Pretty rare lately.

I wasn�t planning on coming up this weekend, I was finishing up at work on Friday night and decided that since I wasn�t going to be able to come up again till the end of the month, and the Storvic Tourney was just 30 min away, I�d come up and surprise Jill. I knocked on her window about 1:00 AM, but since I couldn�t get to the window she couldn�t see who it was. At least she came to the door before calling the cops, or as she puts it �the heat� J

Since I wasn�t planning on coming up, I also wasn�t planning on fighting at the Storvic Novice Tourney either I�m glad I did both, Jill was really happy to see me and I won the un belt tourney. The tourney started in my absolute least favorite style, you were called to the field as you were supposed to be there, it�s a mental thing, I hate having to rush to the field and then fight. But fortunately it then changed to my absolute best form of tourney, kind of an open challenge deal where you could fight continuously and simply report your wins to the list table. I fully understand that these tend to be more of a test of endurance than prowess. Whoever can keep fighting the longest has the best chance of winning. Despite my increasing belly I still have pretty good endurance.
I lost one to Theron, Roland, and Susana and won 27 or so. It was pretty close with Theron, I think at the end there was only about a five point spread.

After the tourney we did some bridge and limited front battles on a path in the woods. It was nice and shady, but still pretty hot. Still we fought for a good hour maybe more. Had fun being the banner bearer, it�s not terribly different of me to fight with a nine foot pole in my left hand so I was pretty comfy. Fought spear on the bridge engagements, had a great time dueling with Roland and Blain. Eventually my gauntlet came apart and I had to sit out, but they only did a couple of engagements after that. All in all a good day of fighting and I managed no to get hurt.

Bardic was ok, it started on the filk side and stayed pretty much in that vein. it�s hard to go back to the more serious stuff once the filks come out. I prefer a more gradual transition to the more loose stuff. Plus it was a pretty raucous party, and I�ve kind of left those days behind. A song with lots of innuendo is fine, but when they are just flat out nasty, well it�s just not our thing anymore. I don�t want to tell anybody how to have a good time, we may just choose to slip out the back.
I can ignore it pretty well, but Jill gets really uncomfortable, and that means I�m uncomfortable. If we�re camping she�ll just go back and get to sleep, but if were day tripping it�s a little harder.

Enough for now, maybe I can get some sleep

1. What is your full name? Paul Justus Koshiol
2.What color pants are you wearing? khaki shorts
3. What are you listening to right now? The dehumidifier in Jill�s basement
4. What was the last thing you ate? Pasta with red sauce and yummy cheese
5. Do you wish on stars? Yes
6. If you were a crayon, what color would you be? Prussian Blue, though according to the crayola web site they changed it to �Midnight Blue� based on teacher request, the final blow to the once great Prussian empire from which the Koshiol family sprang forth.
7. How is the weather right now? Dark and 68 degrees.
8. Last person you spoke to on the phone? Mi espousa
10. Favorite drink? Orange Juice, I also love Benedictine and brandy
11. Favorite sport? SCA Heavy Combat
12. Hair color? Plain brown. I always wanted something dramatic like black, fortunately I never had the initiative to buy a bottle of dye
13. Siblings? Younger Brother
14. Favorite month? December
15. Favorite food? Pasta, in all it wonderful varieties.
16. What was the last movie you saw? We watched the Lion King Tonight, reminding me that Pumba is my all time favorite character
17. Favorite day of the year? The 27th of February.
18. What do you do to vent anger? If I really loose my temper things are hurled, the bigger the better.
19. What was your favorite toy as a child? Legos, before they came in pre packaged kits, I want my kids to make their own space ship, not the one on the box.
20. Summer or winter? Winter, it�s not even close.
21. Hugs or kisses? Hugs from my friends, kisses from my sweetie.
22. Chocolate or vanilla? Vanilla
26. When was the last time you cried? Today
27. What is under your bed? shoes and a 12guage
28. Who is the friend that you have had the longest? My wife is the only person that I�m still in contact with from my youth.
29. What did you do last night? Had a pretty good time at the Storvic Novice bardic
30. What are you afraid of? Walking away from God, letting my wife down.
31. Plain, butter or salted popcorn? Buttered and salted, even though I don�t like popcorn, I still can�t stop eating it.
32. Favorite car? 69� Chevy Chevell SS 454, black with two white stripes. (oohhh�.)
33. Favorite flower? I like wildflowers.
34. Number of keys on your key ring? 4 the fewest # I can possibly have. I�m pretty OC on the whole keyring thing. I have to stop myself from grabbing other peoples keys and re-organizing them. If I ever get stuck up a tree just jingle a big disorderly glob of keys at the base and I�ll come right down.
35. How many years at your current job? I�ve been working for myself for about five years now, long enough to get really good at it, and now I�m ready to quit.
36. Favorite day of the week? Sunday
37. What did you do on your last birthday? Had a great party at our best friends house.
38. How many states have you lived in? 6-Kansas, Maryland, Texas, California, Georgia, North Carolina
39. How many cities have you lived in? 2 Salina Ks, Hays Ks, Garmesh Ger, Frederick MD, San Antonio TX, Monterey CA, Valdosta GA, AL Kharz SA, Durham NC, Carrborro NC, Rockville MD

That was fun, glad I did it.


Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!