jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2005-05-12 - 8:35 p.m.


Come on, tell me that is not what he is thinking.

Dr Livingston I presume?

Jill was bummed that the Yard was not going to get mowed before her folks get here on Friday, so after I dropped her off at work I swung by True Value to rent a mower.

I should have gotten a flame thrower. Our yard has been �natural� since our mower broke down last year. Some of the shoots in the yard were taller than me. But not wanting to let Jill down, I donned my pith helmet and waded into deepest darkest suburbia.

It took five hours to mow the front and back. With the grass at a normal level it takes about an hour and a half to mow them both. It was hot today too, I was completely soaked by at the end of the front. We really should get out there with a garden rake and de-thatch the whole thing, but that will have to wait a few days at least.

So instead of getting my stuff done today I�ll be working this evening. I�ve got to get the rental truck back by 8:00 am. It should be no problem, I�m just trying to figure out what to do next week. I probably have to rent another truck for the week.

It looks like a dead end with my van, at least at this jokers place. He ordered a rebuilt transmission, that he says is broken. He also says that he can�t find another.

So now I have to have the thing towed to another shop. I would just junk it except that we just replaced the engine last year or so. With a new tranny it should last for another decade.

This just sucks.

I�ll call around Durham tomorrow and see if I can find a better shop.

I�ve got to get everything finished in the next couple of weeks, this will be a real busy time for both of us, maybe after the whole thing is over we will just collapse.


Justus
BTW Can we just drop some of the needless contention? It really is OK to just go with the flow. Just because you can think of a possible problem doesn�t mean you have to stand up and give warning. I swear that there are people hunched over their keyboards just waiting for a chance to pounce on a new idea. Whether it actually affects them or not, whether or not they actually agree or not, even if the person bringing forward the idea has gone out of their way to cover the bases and leave no one out, someone will pipe up with �the sky will fall!� Come on, really.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!