jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2005-03-23 - 2:49 p.m.

Whoa!!!

Back from Gulf Wars, that is a long friggin� drive. I know that people farther north had to go even farther, but 12 hrs is plenty for me.

I drove from Kansas to Estrella War in AZ and that was 22 Hrs. I�ve often wondered how many days I�ve lost on the road to SCA events.

Gulf War was fun, though I was disappointed at the amount of heavy fighting. It seems like the rapier folks had plenty to do. The heavy folks had about two major battles a day and then only for the last few days of the war. It seems as though they were afraid to wear us out.
I�ve always had more fun at the wars where the fighting lasts all day and if you need to take a break, you do so on your own.

I also could not understand the idea behind the fort battles. Who drives for 12 hrs to stand around in their armor? Let�s fight! And when every one is dead, lets get back up and do it again. We stood out side the fort for an hour, then we stood inside the fort for an hour. Whooo Hooo.

Anyway, despite my pissing and moaning, I did have fun. Mostly on the pick up and tourney fields. Had some really great times around the fire.

Great court wasn�t that great. Mainly because the overwhelming majority of the populace doesn�t want to come to a court that they think will last 3 hrs and most of which will be about people they don�t know. Most of the royals decided not to hold any real business, just said �Hi, been a great war, thanks for coming�

Everything looked nice, all the thrones set up in front of the fort with big torches blazing.

Speaking of blazing, who in the hell thought allowing flash photography would be a good idea? It was like a Hollywood premier. It was really distracting, and I was in the crowd, it must have really sucked to be facing the mob. What was worse is that there were about four paparazzi sitting right next to me, who decided that it was their mission to document every moment of the court.

Look, I know it looked cool to see all the thrones lined up, and even cooler with all the shiny hats seated in them, but how many pictures do you need? They aren�t doing anything, they haven�t moved, the picture you just took will be identical to the one you took 30 seconds ago, for the love of god stop taking pictures before I pull a Paris Hilton on your ass and get all kinds of fussy.

More later.

Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!