jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2005-02-22 - 11:40 p.m.

Ha, my dog, he laugh at you, all of you who scoff at idea of short Berdysh with butt spike. Here is proof, da spasiba!

Ok I admit I�d never seen pictorial evidence of a short berdysh with a butt spike either. It�s just one of those things that made sense to me from the first time I laid eyes on the berdysh in the Leeds armory museum. That big space in the blade, perfect for a hand hold� I was looking around for Russian shield ideas, (of which there are many and vastly varied) and I found several pictures of berdysh with 4-5 foot hafts and a great big butt spike on the end. The second one from the right is almost exactly what mine looks like. On the shield side though, Russia looks exactly like the rest of the world in the first part of the twelfth century. Kite shields, some round shields as well. You could easily mistake them for Norman knights, with a slightly funny shaped helm. It�s not until later that they really develop the eastern style with the high pointed helms and Byzantine influenced armor. So there is that. I�ve got to fix my hand armor before I have to quit fighting from injury. I keep busting my knuckles up, and the more I do it the longer it takes to recover. I am certain that I will have arthritis way before my time. Really digging the new shield I made, three foot tall center grip heater, I use it exactly like my berdysh (except offensively) and it give me even better leg defense than I had before. I broke the prototype the first time I took it out, but I hade made it out of really thin ply just to see how it would handle. I�ll make a new one out of my old teardrop aluminum shield. (that thing is bullet proof) Trying to decide whether or not to go to assessment, I should but I may not be able to fight anyway. We�ll see later on in the week. Boring stuff, I mainly posted this in my joy of finding that picture. Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!