jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2005-01-10 - 2:26 a.m.

This cartoon comes from a web site called �The Quarter� it is a terribly funny send up of all things SCA much like �The Onion� is for popular culture. Be sure to check out the back issues.

www.thequarter.org

If it were not for sleepless nights I might never update this journal, I�ve already taken some sleeping pills and yet I�m still restless.

12th Night 2005,

What a great event. I think I could get used to non-fighting events, especially since my shoulder is still out of commission from Wednesday night fighter practice.
We didn�t have too much to do at the beginning of the day, sat for a medium length court, did a bit of shopping, but didn�t find anything we really wanted. The drive up with Dunstan and Mauri was great, it�s a real shame that we will be leaving soon and won�t be able to spend as much time with them.
I didn�t really decide to compete for kingdom bard until just before the competition was about to begin. I�m not sure why, I guess I just didn�t want the additional time pressure at events and stuff. I really wasn�t evening planning on attending 12th night at all, it was also our fifth wedding anniversary this Sat, and I was hesitant to drag Jill to an event instead of getting away by ourselves. But having Friday evening to be alone, and since I wasn�t fighting all day and leaving Jill to sit on the sidelines helped make this a really great weekend for both of us.
I did enter, and was surprised at the level of competition; there were several folks there that could have easily filled the role with distinction. I did well the first round, but I choose a poor selection for my second round, the room was just to big and noisy for any kind of finger picked accompaniment. I wouldn�t have been surprised if I didn�t make it to the 3rd round, but I think I skated through on the strength of my first performance.
Third round I trotted out my big war piece and did a pretty good job, but I really didn�t nail it. The lady in the finals with me actually did quite well, and she had written her first two songs (which I think is a bonus) I would have had a difficult time deciding wich was the better performance. Apparently the king and queen couldn�t decide either, so they called us both up at court, and challenged us both to write a song before feast, (about an hour) about �spike� (the atlantian charge,) and war.
I should add that I�ve never written a song, not that I haven�t tried, but I�m just not very good at it. I figured that it was over at that point. She was a songwriter, and a good one at that.
But I sat down with a pen and paper, and a song came almost whole cloth. I absolutely thank God for the inspiration, because I know that I didn�t have the song in me. I really meant to give thanks to God when I performed the song, but I didn�t, and feel pretty bad about it, I will do my best to mention it the next time I perform it, I really do believe that it was a gift. All my friends were very supportive of me thought the competition, it really helps to have good gentles pulling for you.
I probably should have waited until after she had done her piece, but we were supposed to meet folks for dinner. I knew that it was a pretty strong song and I was confident that I could make it work. Her piece was no less skillful, but she had only the words and no tune, and I think that made all the difference. If she had more time to write a tune for her words things could very well be different. But I won, and I will do my utmost to be a worthy Royal bard. I think this will be a lot of fun, maybe I can shine a light on some of the incredible talent I�ve witness here so far.

New Feature!:

Overheard at: 12th Night

�I hate chaffed nipples!�

�I�m a serial puker�

�Thanks Dunstan, now my kid wants to know why punnilingus is funny�
(in response) �Just tell him it�s tongue in cheek,� �I�d only pay lip service to that question� �Man, that�s a ticklish situation��

Hotel Staff: �Esta es Mucho Loco Personas aqui�

Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!