jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2004-11-03 - 10:33 a.m.


Abe Lincoln said that you can�t fool all the people all the time, and he was right, but poll results show that you can fool 51% of Americans all the time.

Having said that and probably alienated any of you who voted for Bush (you do realize that this is a left leaning site right?)
The fact that John Kerry lost an election to the most crooked administration since Johnson�s is clear evidence that he was not a terribly inspiring choice. More unfortunately we are in for another four years of Bush and all that entails.
I forgive those who Voted for Bush in �00 Back then he was just a bumbler running against a man who didn�t have the cajones necessary to dress himself. But unless you have been living on Mars for that last four years, you support sending our troops into Iraq to pay back the fat cats that got Bush elected, you don�t mind being lied to with utter contempt for your intelligence, and you really don�t care about the image of the US abroad, voting for Bush in �04 is possibly the most unpatriotic thing you could have possibly done.

Enough Bush Bashing, let�s talk about film.

I watched �The Return� last night and can happily add it to the list of best movies I�ve ever seen. It�s a small Russian film about two boys and their estranged father. Incredibly beautiful cinematography, richly subtle story and acting, and of course since this is a Russian story, it�s also terribly sad. I�ve never read or seen a Russian story that wasn�t deeply melancholy, and �Good bye Lenin� doesn�t count since it�s east German. (even then it�s pretty sad in it self.) I think it�s just the Russian way.

Jill and I went to DC last weekend so she could interview at the National Cancer Institute. She feels like they interview went really well and we will find out sometime next week if she got the fellowship or not. We�ve decided to accept if she does, and that will mean moving up to Washington DC sometime after May. Not sure what to do with the house, most likely sell it, but the idea of renting it while we are gone is appealing. We would have to refinance our mortgage though. Lots of decisions to be made, and lots to do between now and then.

The trip itself was lots of fun, especially for me. Whenever I take Jill somewhere for a conference of interview, it usually leaves me free to wander about the city and snoop around used bookstores and the like. There are very few things I like better than finding a couple of great books at some dusty little shop and then spending the rest of the day in a tiny caf� wedged into the back corner with a coffee and my latest treasure. I think I�m very much like a raccoon in that way.

We also tooled up to Baltimore Harbor where my Dad used to take me as a kid. We went to the aquarium, which is great, but when I was little they had a pair of Beluga Whales that I was really hoping were still around. Unfortunately they have been replaced with a quartet of dolphins, which are pretty cool, but I miss my Belugas. Despite the absence of my blubber-headed friends, the highlight of the Day was the Dolphin show. We watched the first one from the stadium, and as you know dolphins are pretty dang cute. But what was really cool was watching the show again from underwater. There is a large viewing window under the stadium where you can see the show from underneath. We were the only two there for most of it, and it was absolutely beautiful. I�ll post pictures once I get some decent movie editing software.

Enough for now, I doubt anyone makes it to the bottom of these long posts anyway.

Justus


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!