jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2004-10-24 - 3:08 a.m.

Can�t sleep.

2:32, been laying there since 12:30. Need to be up in the morning.

This happens to me all the time.

Sometimes I�ll drive for hours to an event, get there around two in the morning, set up camp then lie awake in bed until just before dawn. Usually about an hour and a half before I need to get up.

That is exactly what happened at Kingdom Crusades. We pulled in at around 2:30 Friday night. I was stone dead tired from the drive and staying up late Thursday getting things together for the weekend. Set up a bed in the cabin, then lay there awake until morning.

When I was in ground combat school, I slept through sim mortar rounds going off all night, I even slept in a fox hole with my buddy playing Rambo with his M-60.

Now I can�t sleep at all. It must be some kind of Karmic debt.

So I peel myself out of bed Saturday morning at Crusades, fight in every engagement that day, knock myself out falling backward over a hay bail and fall asleep twice in my chair at the longest court I�ve been to in years.

The best decision I could have made would have been to drag myself to bed after court and gotten the sleep I�d missed the previous two nights. The second best decision would have been to go to the bardic that I�d been waiting for all day, but leave the drinking to everyone else.

The worst decision I could have made would have been to go to the bardic and drink as if I was in top condition.

I chose the latter.

In my defense, (thin though it may be) I only took four beers with me and my ever-present flask. On any night of the week I could drink all that in an hour and feel no ill effect at all. Unfortunately on that night it was more than sufficient to spin me into an orbit of drunkenness that I haven�t been in for years.

So I screwed up, I�ll exercise better judgment I the future. I do remember everything from the evening, so I wasn�t half as far gone as I was St Patty�s day 1998 (my personal bench mark for stupidity)

I think not going to any events in November might not be so bad after all. I�ve been playing pretty hard lately and it�s probably time to get some rest. I�m also starting a really big cabinet job that should probably get my full attention through Dec.

I�m going to go read for a while, maybe I can shut down and get some sleep.

Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!