jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2004-09-16 - 6:05 a.m.

Feeling constrained by your work?

Break time. I took Jill to work at

10:00, thinking that I would come home and get some more sleep. But It never happened. We had practice at 6:45, I had a meeting with my new clients at 9:30, and came home at 11:00, ate, and started work around 12:30.

Just finished a set of five drawers, they are all different sizes so it took forever to make them. And now I�m taking a quick break before I head back out to finish the shelves.

I�ll try to get a couple hours of sleep before I head out to chapel hill today and finish the installation. I should really be there by 12:00 since I have another meeting at 6:00 tonight. (It takes me almost an hour to get out there) SO I need to leave at 11:00, which is only five hours from now.

I wrote all that out to illustrate a condition I�ve had since I left the military. When I was in the service (and for most of my life before that) I always had an excess of time. �Six more hours till my shift ends� �two more years in uniform� �one month to go and I�m out of the desert.� You get the idea. I was always waiting for time to pass. Now I never wait for time to pass, my mind is constantly playing the game I illustrated above.

�Ok I�ve got five hours, I need to work for at least one, I�d like to sleep a little, but it would also be nice to read a bit��

Is there not a happy medium?! Busy some of the time, bored some of the time? I�m never bored. At times when I should be bored, (red light, waiting in the vets office ect�) I find myself hoping it will last just a minute longer, just one more minute when I should be working but I can�t due to forces beyond my control.

And now,,, I have to get back�.

To �.. work.

Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!