jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2004-08-21 - 6:19 a.m.

The Station Agent

No not the one from �The Matrix part Three� (what awful drivel that was) But rather the small independent film that just came to video. Every now and then a US filmmaker actually gets the go ahead to make a really great film. Unfortunately those films never do very well because (lets face it now) Americans don�t like to think.

I�m sure most every country has it�s share of the non-thinking variety, and there are probably even countries that rank higher on the vegetable scale that we do. But to tell you the truth, I think we are just too stupid for democracy. (quoting a very funny song here)

Think of 51% of the people you know, do you really think that their opinions should be law?

While there are many great evils that have come of this problem (our current administration for example) the one that I am particularly focusing on tonight is the lack of great films coming out of Hollywood. While there are many more important injustices that I should be railing against, I am in fact fiddling while Rome burns.

It almost takes an act of congress (or at least Aurdey Tautou) to get mainline theaters to screen a movie with subtitles. Why? Because most people will not even go to a movie if they think they will have to use their heads. This is the same reason that Hollywood feels compelled to literally take you buy the hand and lead you through a movie step by step. If there is a plot point in a movie that the producers think 90% of the audience won�t get, you can bet good money that one of the characters will stand up and explain it to you.

I could go on like this for days, but I have faith in the ability of people to figure things out on their own.

There are no car chases in �The Station Agent�, there are not any guns, not even one explosion. There is some great acting, a funny, moving story, and best of all a script written by and for adults. It is certainly one of the best movies I have seen this year.

It opened in 198 theaters in the US

�White Chicks� opened in 1730

Another incredibly good film �Nowhere in Africa� (Won: Best Foreign Film 2002 Academy Awards) screened in 23 theaters and only grossed six million. This is the reason why great films don�t get made.

Justus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!