jdweb

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

contact me older entries newest entry

Check out My photo albums here

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

www.flickr.com

2004-08-13 - 1:18 a.m.

Who reads this stuff anyway? If you can answer that question drop me a line.

Rain day, with bonnie moving up the coast, and another storm close on her heels. I spent another day finishing the installation on a door I just built. It�s beautiful, but it has been quite an albatross so far. One more day, less than that actually.

Tomorrow I need to drive my wife to school at 8:30, then pick her up at three. I don�t think the door will take more than a couple hours. Though I do need to drive around and look for some restoration glass.

One of the only advantages of working for your self is the ability to schedule your day however you see fit. Want to take the morning off and work late instead? So be it. Need to help someone out in the afternoon? No begging the boss for time off. Just don�t forget that if you aren�t working, your not making money either.

I think a lot of folks could never handle it. I�m not saying that I�m some sort of superman, but I hear people say all the time, �I�m not sure if I�ll have a job in a month or so!� Take it easy chicken little, I don�t know if I�ll have work next week, and that is just the way it is. I essentially go through the job interview process every month or so. With all the pressure of not getting work, with the addition of handling the day to day of running a business, there is a reason most people have a 9to5.

The part that really gets me when I stop off in borders at 9:00 in the morning, is that its full of people. I know that they can�t all be self employed. Some are students, some homemakers, but what of the rest? I don�t get it.

I can�t do this forever anyway, mostly because my body is starting to suffer the consequences of a hard living mentality that embraced until just recently. Coupled with a decade of SCA heavy combat, and I�m about to fall apart. There is an old Scottish saying, �Don werk wit yer �ans, if ye cn werk wit yer eed�

I�ll drink to that.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!